The Vegas Shoot perfect 900 club

Compound, recurve, barebow, crossbow and bowhunter archers from all around the world will shoot across 27 divisions at The Vegas Shoot 2019.

Participants can compete in high-quantity payout flight divisions or big-paycheck championship categories and for everyone, expect juniors and cubs, the rule is the same: 30 arrows per day each of the three days of the tournament.

In 2019, there will be more than $420,000 in cash, prizes and scholarships up for grabs across the divisions, but only those who win the main shootdown events will take the biggest payouts.

From being held in Sin City to one of the “hardest” tournaments to win, there are many reasons why The Vegas Shoot is famous - but managing the pressure of shooting perfect all weekend-long is definitely one of the top ones.

The biggest tournament in the world started in 1962, but it was 20 years after when the first-ever perfect 900-point score was shot in competition by Terry Ragsdale in 1985.

Over the past 33 years, another 224 perfect archers, from five different divisions, have joined Ragsdale in the exclusive 900 club.

Here are five facts from 23 perfect years of The Vegas Shoot:

1. The archers who shoot perfect in the freestyle championship advance to the shoot down. Nineteen made it that far in 2012, the most in Vegas history. It was Jesse Broadwater who took home the victory that year.

2. Mary Zorn Hamm in 2004, Sarah Lance in 2014 and Tanja Jensen in 2017 are the only three women to have ever shot a perfect score.

3. John Wheeler, who shot in the Bowhunter Freestyle Flight in 2001, is the only non-compound archer on the club.

4. Out of the 225 who have achieved the feat, 18 archers hail from outside the US. By nationality they are:

  • Canada: Robert Nott, Christopher Perkins, Kevin Tataryn and Dietmar Trillus

  • Croatia: Mario Vavro

  • Denmark: Stephan Hansen, Tanja Jensen, Patrick Laursen and Martin Damsbo

  • England: Chris White and Liam Grimwood

  • France: Seb Peineau

  • Italy: Federico Pagnoni and Sergio Pagni

  • Netherlands: Mike Schloesser and Peter Elzinga

  • Norway: Morten Boe

  • Sweden: Morgan Lundin

5. Forty-six men have shot a perfect-900 score more than once. In order of quantity:

  • 13: Chance Beaubouef

  • 11: Jesse Broadwater

  • 8: Reo Wilde and Dave Cousins

  • 7: George Ryals

  • 6: Michael Anderson and Levi Morgan

  • 4: Rob Morgan, Braden Gellenthien and Jedd Greshock

  • 3: Kris Schaff, Lewis Holmes III, Mike Schloesser, Stephan Hansen, Logan Wilde, Henry Bass, Scott Starnes, Sergio Pagni, Kendal Woody, Jacob Phelps, Grant Schleusner, Keith Trail, Lundin Morgan, Nicholas Annen, Martin Damsbo, Jack White, Jeff Hopkins and Kale Heuton

  • 2: Paul Tedford, Seb Peineau, Justin Hannah, Christopher Perkins, Dan McCarthy, Nshan Thompson, Kevin Tataryn, Richard Potter, Russell Payne, Ben Cleland, Morten Boe, Bob Eyler, Shane Wills, Dave Barnsdale, Nathan Brooks, Steve Jervis, James Despart and Chris White

Contact Us

800 Archery Lane

Yankton, SD 57078

P: 605-260-9279

F: 605-260-9280

E: info@nfaausa.com


©2018 by National Field Archery Association Foundation. Privacy Policy

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon